Motherborad chipset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2004, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118
Default Motherborad chipset

I've been looking at the Asus motherboards for the AMD 64's, and I don't know whether to go with the nVivida or VIA chipset. Is one better than the other and what are some differences? Thanks.
__________________

blackwrx is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

I have a VIA chipset and greatly despise it. It sucks for overclocking, not saying the new boards do. I would go with Nvidia.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

nVidia chipsets are very good for gaming machines also.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 11:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default

i didn't know nividia made mobos, i'm an intel on intel =\
AznRurouni007 is offline  
Old 06-16-2004, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118
Default

I don't think nVidia makes mobos, I was referring to the northbridge chipset in the asus mobos.
__________________
My new toy!
AMD XP 3200+ Barton
1 GB Corsair Pro Series XMS Extreme Memory DDR400 (dual channel)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Mb
DFI Lanparty NFII Ultra B
WD 74 GB 10,000 RPM Raptor
Aspire X-Alien Case with 420 watt PS
Lite On Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sony DVD-ROM
Sony Floppy Drive
Logitech Cordless MX Duo
XP Pro
blackwrx is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 06:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

im sort of faced with the same dilemma except im just after a socket A motherboard. I cant decide on nforce2-400 or KT600 chipset (Asus). Ive talked to a few people and there are different opinions on both. Apparently the nforce chipsets used to have a LOT of problems with cheap (affordable) ram. I dont know if that has been fixed yet or what.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 07:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Sure Nvidia chpiset better than VIA.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.