Motherboards Cons And Pros - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 11:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default Motherboards Cons And Pros

I just want to open this forum to discuss the pros and cons of different motherboards supporting AMD CPUs (since most of here are AMD users just like me now )

DFI
MSI
ASUS
ECS
RedFox
Winfast
Gigabyte
EpoX
AsRock

any other brands of mobos?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

for the manufacturers I know a descent amount about:

DFI: best overclocking, most features, very stable
more expensive than most

MSI: great overclocking, lots of features, very stable, relatively inexpensive
can't think of anything wrong with them....

Asus: best Intel boards, but "ok" AMD boards, except the A8N32-SLI (which is a good board)
a bit pricey for their better motherboards

ECS: cheap
not so reliable

Gigabyte: descent quality, highly stable
not good overclockers, general architecture is a little slow

EpoX: cheap
not so good quality
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

ASrock - cheap, cant overclock.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Gigabyte - Rock solid, (nice looking), reasonable overclockers IF you have the 'pro' version of a certain model. For all those whom say "their aren't enough tweaking options", press CTRL + F1 in the BIOS to unlock everything (Voltages, RAM timings, etc.).

So far I've used 3 Gigabyte mobos, no problems with any of 'em. Then again, I have never experienced the 'high end' (DFI, and such) of MOBO's, so I may be missing a lot.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.