Motherboards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2004, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 15
Default Motherboards

I need a new motherboard so i can get a faster processor. Over 2 ghz. Now my problem is i dont have any idea what kind i should get. Theres so many and i need one with enough slots for ram and Vid cards. If someone could help cause i dont know what i should get.
__________________

Wakkaz is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

What's the CPU you want? AMD, Intel ?
Or do u have one already?

AMD = generally better for gaming
Intel = better for video-editing/rendering etc
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 15
Default

i was wanting an amd. I went to newegg but theres so many of them i dont know what one i would want.
Wakkaz is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Default

ok well if you want a quality prossesor and a low price you can get the AMD 64 3000+ with the SOYO SY-CK8 Dragon Plus http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...139-135&depa=1 thats good for the price and i would get that.
HoWnDaWg is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 15
Default

is there some way to figure out what the max cpu speed the mb i already have is?
Wakkaz is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

check how high u can set the FSB and Multiplier in your BIOS settings. Don't save settings though! You could blow something.
I am not sure if this is the maximum with every CPU.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default

AMD = generally better for gaming
Intel = better for video-editing/rendering etc

Does that mean Intel is better for doing graphic, or using 3D programs?
meepins is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 03:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

processing lots of data like converting video's.

Hyperthreading (on most Intel P4 models) is supported by lots of adobe products like photoshop wich makes these programs run faster on Intel CPU's with HT technology. Windows XP also takes advantage of this. (don't ask me about any technical details )
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 03:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Gosh, I had AMD and Intel mixed up, thanks for the info major
meepins is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 06:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Here is a mb i found and these are the specs. From reading all that does it look like it would work with good processors over 2 ghz?







The NF7-M, based on nForce2 chipset (MCP + IGP), supports the latest AMD Athlon XP, Barton™ processors with 200/266/333 FSB, and features new dual 400MHz DDR memory controllers that deliver up to a 50% increase in bandwidth. The NF7-M also has integrated GeForce™4 MX graphics to deliver an unprecedented level of graphic performance. With cutting-edge features and ABIT Engineering, the NF7 series is the ultimate multimedia platform for the world.

Processor
- Supports AMD-K7 Duron™/Athlon™/Athlon™ XP FSB 200/266/333MHz Processors

Chipset
- NVIDIA nForce2 IGP chipset with MCP
- Supports Advanced Configuration and Power Management Interface (ACPI)
- Accelerated Graphics Port connector supports AGP 8X/4X (0.8V/1.5V)

Dual DDR
- Dual DDR architecture combines two independent 64-bit memory controllers
- Dual DDR400 provides up to 6.4GB/s bandwidth for system memory

Memory
- Three 184-pin DIMM sockets
- Supports 3 DIMM DDR 200/266/333 (Max. 3GB)
- Supports 2 DIMM DDR 400 (Max. 2GB)

VGA
- Integrated GeForce4 MX AGP Graphics

Audio
- 6-Channel AC 97 CODEC on board
- Professional digital audio interface supports S/PDIF Out

System BIOS
- SoftMenu™ Technology
- Award Plug and Play BIOS

LAN
- On board 10/100MB LAN Physical layer interface
- On board 10/100Mb Operation supports ACPI & Wake on LAN

Internal I/O Connectors
- 1 x AGP 8X/4X, 5 x PCI slots
- 1 x Floppy Port supports up to 2.88MB
- 2 x Ultra DMA 33/66/100/133 Connectors
- 2 x USB headers
- 1 x CD-IN, 1 x IrDA

Back Panel I/O
- 1 x PS/2 Keyboard, 1 x PS/2 mouse
- 1 x Serial, 1 x VGA connector, 1 x Parallel
- 1 x S/PDIF Output
- Audio connectors (Front Speaker, Line-in, Mic-in, Center/Sub, Surround Speaker)
- 2 x USB, 1 x RJ-45 LAN Connector

Miscellaneous
- ATX form factor
- Hardware monitoring - Including Fan speeds, Voltages, System environment temperature
__________________

Wakkaz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.