Motherboard Restriction on Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default Motherboard Restriction on Memory

I'm just starting to really get into the hardware of computers, and I've learned a lot, however, I still do not know what part of a computer or the Motherboard restricts a computer from going past a set maximum memory limit. For example: My computer right now cannot go past 512MB of memory...Why? What is keeping it from going past it? I'll be building my own computer, and I want to buy a new motherboard, so I want to know how I can go up to, say, 1.5 GB of memory.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Most newer mobos will support 3 to 4 Gig of RAM. Although 1 gig seems to be the "normal" ammount most people will install.

It is my understanding that things like CAD would be the only thing that would utilize 3 to 4 gig of RAM. (excluding servers of course.)

Oops! to answer your question: why can my mobo only support 512MB of RAM? Thats just the way its built. Kinda like a car's gas tank will only hold as much as the mfg has deemed necessary.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

"Athlon 64/Sempron, Socket 754, nForce3 250, ATX, 3GB DDR, 800MHz FSB "

Thats what I got from a website. What part of that says what the maximum memory it can support is? Or does it not say at all?
Flanker is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

first off, don't buy a socket 754 mobo. Go with socket 939.

The "3GB DDR" part states that the mobo will support up to 3 GB of RAM.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Where it says 3 GB

Most new motherboard's can support 4, unless you get some crappy shady motherboard.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Ok guys, thats a lot.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.