motherboard question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2004, 01:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 15
Default motherboard question

i bought a DFI lanparty 925X-T2 and it has 1 pci 16X slot and 4 PCI 1X slots if i want to use 2 video cards and connect em do i need another 16X slot or do i use the 1X slot next to it?
__________________

hard12catch33 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Yes, you will need two PCI-express slots to run two cards in parallel.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 08:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you need a board with 2 PCI-E 16x (i.e. one with SLI support) slots to have 2 PCI-E video cards in one motherboard unless they make any in a 1x slot in future, but that's not likely
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

So far Intel doesnt support SLI yet only the new nforce 4 ultra and SLI chipsets do. In order to do SLI you would need 2x PCI-E 16x or 1x PCI-E 16x and 1x PCI-E 2x together.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U mean AMD.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

why do you need two video cards ?, out of interest
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 05:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

For SLI, that means each card builds half of your screen to increase performance.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.