Motherboard problems?? Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default Motherboard problems?? Help

Recently putting a computer together for a friend... it's a AMD duron 1.6ghz. I had an old Asus mainboard laying around so to save money, I figured it use that [this board is for AMD xp's, am I correct assuming that the duron processors will work as well?, it fits after all] However, the first time booting up I noticed the HD and CD drive not receiving any power, at first I though it was the power unit... so I took the power unit out of my comp and tested... still nothing.

I do get a picture however.... it's the screen you get when you first boost up the ram check and it gets stuck at "checking IDE connections" or something like that.
I checked to make sure everything is connected tight, also the HD and CD rom is all brand new, as are the cables. Before I go buy a new board, just wanted to ask if there's something I missed. Btw, I'm using an old 300watt psu that came with my friend's old comp, basically replacing some internals.
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah durons will work down to a certain speed but yours is fine, obviously otherwise you wouldn't have been able to see the POST screen.


I've never seen a CD-ROM and/or hard drive not get power though when atempting to boot up unless either a molex connector was extremely loose or something along those lines which you said you already checked.

The power just goes straight from the PSU to the hard drive so if they aren't getting power then it has to be something to do with the PSU unless they both coincidentally happen to be dead
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Are they not getting power or since hes not getting past boot could it be that the jumpers are wrong.Set the hard drive as master and the CD ROM as slave if there on the same cable.And if they are move the ribbon cable to the other IDE plug you might have a bad one. My last used computer had a bad one.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

The cd-rom drive or hard drive don't make a sound... the cd-rom drive does not open.. therefore I'm assuming it's not receiving power. But I don't understand what it could be since I checked the cables.. I tested a diff psu... I've also bought the HD and CD-rom new. I really don't know what else to do other than try a diff board.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

That is a odd problem.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

try a different molex
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 11:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Sigh.... I've never had this kind of a dead-end problem occur when putting hardware together. I'm going to try a difference HD and CD-rom... to make sure it is or it is not the board.

What is a molex connector. Where can I get a new one... are they expensive?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 01:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180
Default

a molex connector is the connector from the power supply that you plug into your hard drive/cd rom drive
psydesign is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 05:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

How old is the board ? make sure theres no jumper settings required
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Clear the cmos, that can fix some problems.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.