Motherboard Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2004, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Default Motherboard Problem

Well I had a computer with basic Biostar m7vik motherboard, amd athlon 1900+ and nothing else. On board everything but video. I bought a shuttle that i've been using so when I went to the closet and took out the other PC to hook up today I realised i didn't have onboard video (i sold my old crappy agp card), so i bought a cheap radeon 7000 and installled it and tried to boot up.

Nothing happens but a continuous beep from the mobo and an error message saying Drive A Media error, and something else about a floppy. That would have been helpful if i had a floppy drive hooked up to the computer. I've tried swapping ide cables with the hdds, cd roms, making sure everything has adequate power, can't find anything to solve the problem. The funny thing is is that i dont get an error message everytime. Sometimes the motherboard appears to boot fine, other times i get this funky error message. I disconnected all the ide cables eliminating those as being the problem. I can't figure out what this error message along with a continuous beep means. I think i eliminated the new vid card being the problem by taking it out of the comp and booting, i get the same continuous beep. I'm hoping that it isn't the proc or a glitch in the mobo. If anyone knows what that error message means plz respond it would help greatly

myst711 is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23

any suggestions would be helpful

myst711 is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to Silencedwraiths Send a message via AIM to Silencedwraiths Send a message via Yahoo to Silencedwraiths

errr thats a bit funky there. What kind of msgs is showing up? getting the gist of what the computer says is wrong heslps me out in helping you... Pm me a couple of the msgs and i'll try to help out...
Silencedwraiths is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

You could go into bios and disable floppy drive seek on startup.Also mabey set your bios to default.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.