Motherboard not powering up with atx2 (12v) power cable connected - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 08:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Motherboard not powering up with atx2 (12v) power cable connected

Motherboard
Product Name ECS PT800CE-A
Model Version 1.0

CPU Intel Pentium 4 rk80546pg0881m

Memory Micron MT16VDDT6464AG-265B1 512MB PC2100 266MHZ

HDD western digital wd800bb

Power supply: 250w Newton Power from a gateway select athlon 1100

Operation System Windows XP Home Edition

I installed this ECS PT800CE-A motherboard and the drivers from the cd that came with it and the system worked fine for a few hours. I left my computer on and about 1 hour later it shut down and would not start when I click the power button. With the ATX1 and ATX2 power cables attached, it would not start, however, if I remove ATX2 the fans will run but nothing shows up on the screen. I disconnected everything from the motherboard and took it out of the case and it still didn't power up. I tried removing the CPU, leaving only the motherboard as it came in the box and it still didn't power up. I even cleared CMOS and the problem still persists. I was told by an ECS technician that I should use a power supply rated at least 350 watts. Could this motherboard be defective? Did I damage it by using an insufficient power supply or will a bigger supply bring it back to life? Any information you can provide is greatly appriciated. Thank you.
__________________

bubblersound is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Well, Gateway does not rearrange the pins on their PSUs (at least they didn't used to; my Gateway OEM board will power up with any ATX power supply.), so that is not the problem.

The technician is right; I wouldn't even think of hooking up a power supply less than 350W to that, and would probably step up to 400 just because I'm paranoid.

If you can get your hands on a 350W PSU, hook it up and try it out. I don't know if the mobo is defective---lets just take this one step at a time.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

This is also posted in the Overclocking forum.

I am locking this thread.

Do not double post threads!
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.