Motherboard/Fan Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Motherboard/Fan Question

I seem to have accidently attached my CPU Fan to the Fan1 PWR on my motherboard, instead of the actual CPU Fan attachment. Would this cause any type of damage? I basically had the two fans reversed since I do have a large exhaust fan running off the motherboard as well.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

I doubt it caused a problem for a short time frame run. The purpose of the fan being plugged into the correct spot is to control its rpm for cooling. So if the pc core and heat sink became hot and needed additional cool air it would not receive it as the monitor control plug would be in the wrong place refering to your situation.
Download the Intel active monitor software, it will display the temperature and voltage readings for your board.
Hope this helps out.
__________________

Marvel is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Thanks, I only had the attachments swapped for about a week. I'll check out the Intel monitoring software, I've been leaving my PC on all the time and even after some heavy game sessions the hottest I have seen it is 130 degrees fahrenheit. It seems to be running 5-10 degrees cooler now that I setup it up correct :/
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 05:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

your sys will be alright.....get this, plugged into the cpu plug is an 80mm case fan, my actual cpu fan which is a 120mm fan is plugged into a molex connecter......so, where the fan is located is not gonna cause any probs, as long as there is something plugged into that cpu fan plug.
jaksback is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

If your mobo has a case temp sencor it might have that fan spin slower because its not as hot as the cpu, so it might cause a problem if your mobo monitors and changes the rpm. I know with mine, when i take off the side pannel the case and power rpms drop 500+, and the cpu slowly over time. It cant hurt to change it correctly or take too much time.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.