motherboard chipset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2004, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default motherboard chipset

Hey all, I am looking at motherboards to use with a P4 w/HT cpu. I have found several that would work just great but there is one thing im kinda confused about. The chipset on the boards are all different and I was wondering how to understand it. What is the difference between them? which is better? Higher number=faster?
__________________

Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Higher number is faster. For example i think the lowest is 845. then i have an old 850. But the most current models you mostly see are 865 and 875. 875 is the best out right now. Also you see letters after them i know perl means no onboard video and g means it has onboard video
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

ahh.. I see. Now do you know anything about what the socket number means? All I see are 478 socket, but I was told of another (7 somthing) Is that for a 64b processor?
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

oh and do you happen to know what the ICH5 after the chipset number means? like 865g + ICH5 .
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

socket placement numbers on your mother board Must match the socket number on your cpu, because if it doesnt, the cpu will not function with the mother board.. most pentium 4 (including mine in the sig) are socket 478.. I went with the abit is7-e mobo (80 bucks on newegg) and it works just fine.. unless you need the onboard sound, video etc.. (which are crappy anyway) get the is7-e, dont spend higher on anyhting else..
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

What OS are you running? I was going to go with the intel D865GBFL just because I figured that since I am building it for XP that keeping with the company family would minimize problems. Maybe it doesn't work that way tho.lol
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

windows XP, no problems what soever.. the oinly problem that I am having is incrroect temperature readings.. now im not sure if abit is the culrpit inthis case, and I DID hear stories in the past of abit mobo's showing incorrect temp readings.. other then that though, everything is very stable.. this 80 dollar mobo has everything you need..even firewire support.
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

Dryice, I was looking at that mobo and under that fsb it said that the values were only good for northwood cpus. What does that mean? What does FSB mean.
Dunadan1821 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

the "only good for northwood" part was for the 333-400mhz fsb cpu's only.. but anyway, I would recommend northwood p4's either way, better then prescotts, because prescotts have big overheating issues.. but anyway..

fsb = front side bus. newer cpu's usualy have higher fsb. FSB speed (in mhz) determains how fast your cpu works with your mother board.. the higher, the better. the cpu I have (form northwood) has 800mhz fsb, very good for today's demands.
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to Dunadan1821 Send a message via Yahoo to Dunadan1821
Default

Thanks for the help!
__________________

Dunadan1821 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.