motherboard advise - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2004, 05:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default motherboard advise

I have recently been running into problems with my computer. It seems to freeze up quite a bit, I have to restart it quite a few times during the day. Someone told me that it might be my motherboard, I would like to know how I can figure out what is making my system hang. If it is I would like some advise on getting a decent one. You can see my specs below what do you recomend?
__________________

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 05:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ive had problems with ecs. have u got any more ram? say a 128 or 256 ddr stick? if so try them in cos mine crashed wen it has more than 256mb, very strange. if not try it with the min parts in take pci cards out have 1 stick of ram, ur hdd with windows and nothin else on ur ides. that would narrow down the problem quite abit. then if ur still gettin problems try ur graphics card in another comp or try the other stick of ram in it. its a process of elimination.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 08:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

do you have a firewall? becasue i have had this problem before with viruses keep crashing the system but without any identifying symptoms
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default

I dont have a firewall but I have a router I also have norton which I run weekly and everything seems ok. My computer doesn't just crash it hangs up (expecially when I am making copies of movies) and then I have to keep restarting?
__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Heat problem,may be
I heard that 160GB HDD dissipate a lot of heat
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Try motherboard monitor.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default

could you elaborate what do you mean by "try motherboard monitor"?
__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 10:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default

as far as heat is concerned I have a volcano 9 for the cpu and 5 case fans
__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 10:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

U can check whether your OS got problem or not.
What OS r u using?
Sometime if u installed too many program or startup a lot, it might make the computer lagging.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 11:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

how can i check what motherboard i have??
__________________

Greentea08 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.