motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2004, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Question motherboard?

Ok This is really a stupid question probably but anyways. How do I fiind out the name of my motherboard? Can I do this through Windows or do I have to get into the hardware stuff? And also what is a socket? Thanks guys, really appreciate it.
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

usually it will say somewhere on your motherboard the manufacturer and the product name
__________________

__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Download Everest or Sisoft Sandra.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

easier way.....go to run in the start menu and type "dxdiag"

it will be somewhere in the middle of the page...
zstopa is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

dxdiag only gives you info on your graphics card, soundcard, DirectX version and very little information on other things. Nothing about your motherboard.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

you are incorrect sir. it's called system model. i'm looking at it right now.
zstopa is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

maybe its only on direct x 9.0 or something cuz it's staring me in the face..
zstopa is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

What does it say on your computer? I cannot find it. What's your system model?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

on the very first tab that it defaults to called system. Then in the body it lists current date and time, computer name, all the way through video card, mobo, processor etc...here's a text file it generated for me as well:

Machine name: ZACK-GLOKOIUU23
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
System Model: A7N8X2.0
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.8GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 187MB used, 1062MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
zstopa is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I need to upgrade to DX9.0c
Thanks for the info.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.