The MOTHER of all problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 02:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

From my experiance it just wouldnt turn on... Didnt notice any damage.... But that was only because the Reset and Power switch's pos and neg got turned around, i dont think the LED's would matter though....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Dont worry about ruining your motherboard by plugging one of these little boogers in..you stand a better chance of of blowing up your motherboard with static electricty built up inside you than plugging in one of these cables wrong. Most of us have built many systems so speak from personal experience I have built maybe 50 systems and I'm sure others are up in the hundreds.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:04 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I was a bit like you when I hadn't built a computer before, I was really scared that I would stuff things up.
believe me, building a computer is actually easy, you just need a little bit of knowledge and common sense

here is a guide to firewire setup to show you where the plugs go


pretty much all the plugs can be placed using trial and error though, except for the main power plugs, none of them really put through enough power to do damage. USB and firewire are an exception becuse they are designed to be able to power devices, so there are a couple of plugs with higher volts (but only the ones coming from the motherboard)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to REDtoLINE Send a message via Yahoo to REDtoLINE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I was a bit like you when I hadn't built a computer before, I was really scared that I would stuff things up.
believe me, building a computer is actually easy, you just need a little bit of knowledge and common sense

here is a guide to firewire setup to show you where the plugs go


pretty much all the plugs can be placed using trial and error though, except for the main power plugs, none of them really put through enough power to do damage. USB and firewire are an exception becuse they are designed to be able to power devices, so there are a couple of plugs with higher volts (but only the ones coming from the motherboard)
thanks, that guide helped, the TPBs are easy, and the GND is self-explanatory, but the VP and VG seem to confuse me as to where those would go, VP is probablu power, but what is the VG?
REDtoLINE is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

voltage ground?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:17 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to REDtoLINE Send a message via Yahoo to REDtoLINE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
voltage ground?
if that was voltage ground, what exactly would that mean, and why wouldnt they call it GND like the other pin?
REDtoLINE is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I had that problem too with the LED and power connectors. Just read your mobo manual. It shoudl say where to put them.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:22 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yup, they're for power VG is ground, VP is 12V of power
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to REDtoLINE Send a message via Yahoo to REDtoLINE
Default

So in the USB booklet picture, does NC mean No Connection? so should i just not plug the extra grounds into anything?
__________________

REDtoLINE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.