More unused HD space than I am told? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 04:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default More unused HD space than I am told?

Hi, I think that my computer is telling my I have used more of my hard drive than I actually have. You can access everything on the HD from C:\ right? How come then when I highlight all of the folders I only get "13.4 gigs" when if I click on properties of "Local Disk" it says I have used 22.9 gigs? I am using a Compaq Presario notebook. I am running XP and have a 40 gig HD. I keep my computer clean almost to the point of being obsessed.
__________________

pearldrum944 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 07:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

You might have hidden files.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

or unallocated space. Right click my computer>>manage>>disk drives and take a snapshot and post it here.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Yes, but even if I have hidden files shown shouldn't it count everything in the file? I have tried this on a couple computers and their numbers are alot closer together. For instance: 51.4 gigs used told by windows, and 50 gigs of files in the folders.

Is disk management what I wanted?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg asdfa.jpg (66.8 KB, 76 views)
pearldrum944 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 01:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

god damn hard drive gremlins... GET THE 12 GAUGE!
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

If you are using XP with system restore enabled, it uses a portion of the disk space for the restore files. This is kept in a hidden folder in the root of each drive or partition that is actively monitored. (Just the C drive in your case by the sound of it).

If you don't have 'show hidden/system' files enabled, when you look at the contents of the drive in explorer, you will not see this folder & so can't click on it to select it. Therefore, selecting all folders & checking their size in properties, will not include the hidden restore one.
Samm is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default

I set the options to show everything but even then the folders only gained 600 mbs. Should I just give up trying to search for my 8 gigs that are unaccounted for?
pearldrum944 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to M@$t3r_N30
Default

Have you defraged recently?
__________________
<a href="http://techbycolin.com">Tech by Colin</a>
<a href="http://linux.techbycolin.com">Home Webserver</a>
M@$t3r_N30 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 11:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M@$t3r_N30
Have you defraged recently?
Yes I have.
pearldrum944 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 02:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

If its not a big deal reformat and then try again. Might have had a bad setup. 8 gigs is a lot of space when you only have like 36 true gigs.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.