More RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2005, 01:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default More RAM?

I am running an Atholn 3400+ with 1g ram and a BFG Nvidia 6800 OC...I have been playing a lot of demanding games. Half Life 2 runs great, except maybe sometimes there is a bit of choppiness in huge open areas, but really not that much. You think another 512mb of ram would improve the speed/performance of my computer, or is adding anymore at this point just showing off?

J
__________________

kaazmar is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

1gb should be enough If you add 1.5gb there won't be much of a difference...... Also you said you expirence some chopping in big open areas...... Maybe your video card is choking. If you have it at 6x AA, 16x AF, and the highest resolution/quality, I don't care what card you have it is going to chop here and there in big open areas. Try to notch some of the "un-needed" stuff down.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I have 1.5gb's and I have tried it with only one 1gb in my system, and I don't notice a difference between them.

Lower the resolution a bit, and the AA and AF. All the settings should be able to be at high. (are you using the recomended settings that HL2 shows by a little '*'?)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 03:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

adding more then 1gb of ram wont increase any performance... it will perform the same but what more ram does is... smoothes out stuff such as those loading pausess in some games.

the slight choppyness you get in HL2 is all your GFX card, has nothing to do with system ram.

if your on a CRT monitor, you probably cant notice a difference from 1280x ress, 4xAA, 8 or 16xAF... to anything higher so you dont need to run it any higher.

*note* - enabling FPS in HL2 will allow you to see witch options choke up your fps the mose... just either... input this cmd into the target line on in the HL2 icon shortcut, or into the console

-example 'shortcut target path' = "c:\Program files\valve\hl2" -steam -console +cl_showfps "1"

or just add the -console part and input "cl_showfps 1" into console.
jolancer is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer


*note* - enabling FPS in HL2 will allow you to see witch options choke up your fps the mose... just either... input this cmd into the target line on in the HL2 icon shortcut, or into the console

-example 'shortcut target path' = "c:\Program files\valve\hl2" -steam -console +cl_showfps "1"

or just add the -console part and input "cl_showfps 1" into console.
or just install FRAPS ---> http://www.fraps.com/

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer

the slight choppyness you get in HL2 is all your GFX card, has nothing to do with system ram.
hmmm...how bout cpu?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LoTeX

hmmm...how bout cpu?
that is what I was thinking but it looks fine.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 08:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

well, u could test this by setting the resolution very slow and no antialiasing or anisotropic filtering, but keep the drawing distance, shadows etc. maxed out.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

http://tech-heaven.com/forum/showthr...threadid=57810

scrool down 'till the RAM section
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 12:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 64
Default Re: More RAM?

Quote:
Originally posted by kaazmar
I am running an Atholn 3400+ with 1g ram and a BFG Nvidia 6800 OC...I have been playing a lot of demanding games. Half Life 2 runs great, except maybe sometimes there is a bit of choppiness in huge open areas, but really not that much. You think another 512mb of ram would improve the speed/performance of my computer, or is adding anymore at this point just showing off?

J
When the game is playing, if possible switch back to your desktop and do a ctrl-alt-delete and look at the performance tab and see how much physical RAM is free.

If there is less than 100 megs free or so and sometimes you hear a lot of disk access and the game slows down then I would say yes it will help. If you're seeing lots of free memory which I think you will then there will be no performance benefit.

Be sure to close any unused or unnecessary programs when playing games to free up more memory
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://realtechtalk.com\"><b>A Fresh Change - Free, Friendly Support For Beginners From Web Sites, Web Hosting, Domains etc.. and any other technology</b></a>
realtechtalk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.