montior help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2005, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Default montior help

Our computer is prety old prob 4-5 years old an were haveing problems with the monitor. The contrast an brightness are all the way up an its still not bright enough on the dark colors.

chevyss is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976

Can you post some specs?

If your monitor's really old, then it's probably just seen better days

But tell us what your comp is, and then we can help out.

AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to Matrix-D

clean the vidio cable plugs and jiggle the cord around. Ive fixed many problems like that just by moving the cable a bit.
Matrix-D is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

If its a CRT, then your phosphor took a sh!t.. Thats exactly what happens when CRT's lose color contrast.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122

if your graphics card has an advanced properties dialogue, bring it up and adjust the gamma. I ran into this problem with an old emachines monitor, I sent it back to the factory after it fried. They sent it back, still didn't work, went through this about 3 times, and finally, it turned on, but it was dark, too dark. Oh, and if your graphics card doesn't have an advanced properties dialouge, you can usually pick one up off the net. Adobe sends a good one out. GOOD LUCK!!!
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2

well I dont know much about computers Just the basics. Ill try cleaning the video cable an for the specs well on the front of the monitar its says compaq MV920 an its an 18in other than that I dont know were to look.

chevyss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.