Monitors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2005, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Question Monitors?

Hey, i just got a brand new setup for gaming and need to know something. Will going to buy a used Dell monitor for $49.99 be good enough for what im wanting to do. Or do I really need to spend some money for a better one. Keep in mind a very small difference wont matter to much. For example is spending $150 compared to $50 only gets a small performance boost, then its not worth it. So lemme here what you guys think.
__________________

toogreen is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 12:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Can you post a link?
I think it will do fine.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Unfortunately I cannoot, as I will be buying the monitor in my city. I acually havn't even seen them yet, have only heard rumors of them. So any information on monitors would be absolutely great.
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

If your buying used make sure you get it from a computer shop instead a private sale,lot's of computer store's get the off lease equipment that has only been used for maybe a year or so,lot's of place's grade the monitor's grade A being the best with no flaw's,grade B having scratch's either on the casing or on the screen it's self,If it's a grade A go for it
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 01:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

Shumway, are you in TO? Or better question do you know of any of these stores int he Toronto area?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

No i'm in london,the only place in Toronto i've bought anything from is BigFootComputers.com and that was only for case mod's.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

I am also in london and windsor often, often enuff at least. Are their stores in ur area that u may know of?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

www.cedgec.com it's kind of like a little ware house it's where i get all my stuff from,Then there's another place here that sell's a bunch of used comp's call Computer Liquidator's www.cllondon.ca ,There's a bunch more but i can't remember off hand.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
Default

Just checked out the site, prices are slightly better at the first one u listed, but not by much, a few dollars. The other site has not products...LOL.

I'll check back with site 1 from time to time though, maybe a good deal will come up.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 05:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

Ahh, a flat screen (not panel) is better for gaming because it is CRT (Cathode Ray Tube) which ultimitly displays better picture quality, but what I have is just fine, a reg (prolly 50 bucks) CRT monitor, nuthin special. My guess, stick with a newer type (tend to be lighter then older models) regualer monitor!!
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
nVidia 5700 LE 256 MB
512 MB Corsair XMS Series
bigdawgjts2663 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.