Monitors - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2006, 01:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Ok, ignore my example then.

Simply put, will running two monitors at once increase the strain on the graphics card two-fold?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I'm 99% sure that the game will just go to one screen. Using that software you can have it go to the desktop. Unless the game is programmed for it, you can't have dual monitors. (apart from using that Maxtor 3head2go.) And it doesn't really work if it would as the cross hair will have a bar in the middle of it. :/

I'll edit this post later and tell you the increased strain from 1024x 768 to 2048x1536...

And the result is... I have more crap running in the background than I did before.



Too big for posting...
http://img376.imageshack.us/img376/3451/2048un9.jpg
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

when I said "the image was displayed on both screens" i actually meant the same image being displayed, just mirrored / 'striped'.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Ahh, it shouldn't then. I could move my PC 3 inches closer to my other monitor and tell you, but its too heavy to lift.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to radtadtod
Default

CRT all teh way
__________________
phaux keeng mahuds.
radtadtod is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 03:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by radtadtod
CRT all teh way

I'm getting a 19" LCD in three days.

LCD all the way, they are the pwns
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.