Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2013, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Question Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

Ok, so I think I have finally narrowed down why this card won't let me span screens. The monitor is being displayed at 2560x1600 but when you check the settings it shows the native as being 1280x800, and I think this is why the driver will not span. Has anyone ever run into anything like this, and/or have any idea how to fix it?

GTX 690 with nvidia 314.22 drivers
Dell 30" 3007wfphc monitor
Multiple dual-link dvi cables
displayport > dual link dvi adapter

This happens no matter which output I use on the card. I'm going to borrow my hp 30" monitor from work and see if the problem goes away when I take this monitor out of the equation.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

You have three of the Dell monitors, correct? All three do the same thing?
__________________

__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

Not span in games or just in the OS itself?
__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

Quote:
Originally Posted by Murphyslaw View Post
Not span in games or just in the OS itself?
You can't span in game unless Surround is enabled via NVCP. It won't do this if something is wrong.

See man, told you something was up. Are you just plugging the monitors in and going, or using an updated Microsoft driver via Windows update?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

Everything is fully updated. I can span perfectly fine using my AMD card, so it's definitely an issue with the nvidia drivers.
1 hp 30" monitor that is seen as 25x16 native
1 dell 30" u3011 that is seen as 25x16 native
1 older dell 30" that is seen as 12x8 native, but displays perfectly fine at 25x16. This is one of the dumbest bugs I have ever run into. Also, I have tried this on both win7 and win 8, and had at least 4 different installs since January, so it is a consistent issue.

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

Sounds like a consistent issue with the monitor in question. How do you have it hooked up, DVI? Is the cable dual link?

Since they all display the same res and refresh it should still work. When I tried 2 Dell 1080p screens with my NEC 1200p screen it said I need matching resolution monitors to run Surround. All 3 monitors mentioned are matching resolution.

Now that I have models to go by, it appears that particular monitor has issues due to its scaler. If you Google, you aren't the only one having that same problem and it isn't Nvidia specific. Happens on Macs and AMD cards alike. Try making the GPU do scaling instead, or try custom resolutions and timings.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

Tried all that last night I'm going to snag my 30" hp from work and use it and see if the problem goes away. if so, I might just swap them, since no one at work will care.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Monitor will display 25x16 but thinks native is 1280x800

I must say, that it's pretty lame for it not to span just because it's showing 1280x800 as native.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.