Monitor turns off then back on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2004, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default Monitor turns off then back on

I just built a new AMD system and am having an interesting problem. Windows will freeze and my monitor seems to turn off then turn back on. It happens every 15 minutes or so and after it happens I can continue working normally. It only does this when in Windows because I went into my BIOS setup screen and left it there and seemed to have no problems. It doesn't seem to be having adverse effects but it definitely doesn't seem normal. Any ideas or suggestions? Here is what I've got:

ATX case with a CompUSA 400W power supply.
52X CompUSA CDrom.
Old soundblaster Live Value PCI sound card
Gigabyte 7VT600-RZ(-C) with latest bios update
Maxtor 60GB EIDE HD 7200/2MB/ATA-133
Connect 3D Radeon 9200se 128MB DDR AGP video card
AMD Sempron 2400+ 333FSB
GamerPro 256MB PC3700 466MHz DDR RAM
Old Soundblaster dialup modem
Windows XP Professional

I think that's everything. Thanks for any help or tips you may have.
__________________

citypants is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

That ram/mobo combo is weird h/o ill check it out
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

Yea its the ram most deff look here:
http://www.webuildpcs.com/product.ph...tid=317&cat=42

Dosent say PC3700 is allowed.....
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Before I tried the new memory idea I decided to uninstall the Radeon drivers and found that the problem stopped. I then got some updated drivers off of the ATI site and have not had the problem since. That seems to have done it. Thought I'd post the answer just in case somebody else had the same problem.
citypants is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.