Monitor troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default Monitor troubles

Whenever I play a full screen game, about 15 minutes into it my monitor and speakers start going haywire. The monitor starts flickering and freezing in some spots on the screen, and my speakers start to let out some loud static noises...

Any ideas what is wrong?
__________________

Skawt is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

not a monitor fault definately,

lemme know your graphic card? a possibility that GPU gets hotter.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I have integrated video on my mobo.
Skawt is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

then at least tell me motheroard manufacturer + model

integrated means, problem in not just one, but many areas applicable.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I'm not sure what it is exactly... but I just opened up my case and it doesn't look like the fan on the power supply is running.
Skawt is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

fan on PSU? as if this is the case, means your PSU gets hotter, (or) you want to say that the fan on CPU? (assuming mistakenly written), as when you are playing games, your hardware is at boost.

as if I have to quote my example, I usually dont play games, but Once i installed Age of Mythdology, and my PSU's fan speed increased, as because my graphic card was pumping iron, needing more wattage, and therfore PSU got hotter, and it doubled its fan speed.

to see what your mobo is: i'll be linking a software here, called Astra32.

this is beta version, but will tell you what u have inside, download it, chekc ur sytstem and tell me then.

http://www.astra32.com/files/astra32setup.exe

download size is around 1MB only
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 07:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Well, my computer was just over heating i suppose. My case has a really stupid design, it doesn't let much heat out and with the PSU fan not on it just over heated. I have the case open right now and a fan blowing on it and it is working just fine. I think I'm going to buy a new case because of this.
Skawt is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

hmm, means that solves your problem, have you tried playing same game?

try playign it with a case lid opened, and some fan towards it (basically drawing hot air out rapidly out of casing) or as well, pushign cool air in.

if your system works fine, means you have heating problem. change case and insert fans at back.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 09:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah, I played the game with a fan on it and the case open. Works fine now, but I don't know if I should put my second hard drive back in or not.
Skawt is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

do it, wihout hassle, hard drive dont dissepate too much heat as CPU/Northbridge does
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.