monitor trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2004, 03:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default monitor trouble

this is like soooo I got a monster lighted 120mm fan that attaches to an 80mm adapter (ths is beside the point), anyways after I installed it plugged everything back in I had probs with my monitor and restarting and all kinds of locking up including a failure for VPU recovery and a couple times the computer gave a funny beep at startup with no monitor signal. Most of the time it would get just past the first blue screen booting up then I got this monitor message of "32k 40hz....something or other error or inconsistancy" then the monitor kicked off. sometimes it would even boot up fully then lock up or lose monitor signal and monitor would shut itself off but the computer kept running though.

I did everything from removing the vid card to unplugging and replugging in the VGA cable. then I decided to plug in another monitor and after a couple tries it worked fine. then I once again plugged in the good monitor and it worked.

I'm not sure if its the VGA cable shorting (my cat was playing around back there the other day and the monitor lost signal, guess she stepped her full weight on the cable where it goes into the vid card) or if this is my vid card having a bad connection to the mobo. I'm now very leery of even slightly moving the computer or even shutting down.

I'd hate to have to take the long trip back to Fry's to exchange this monitor and very afraid that its a vid card problem.

anyways, got any other suggestions or ideas as to what happened and why its working now and what that monitor message was all about?

**EDIT** checked the pins and they are fine

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 04:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Have you tried a different video card in it yet and see if it boots normal?

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 04:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

goodness, that would require uninstalling the omega/ati drivers, and installing nvidia drivers cuz all i have is an old nvidia 64mb card.

mainly i was wondering what the heck that monitor message was....never saw THAT before.

I know I wouod probably do myself right by getting an all new vid card like the 9600 xt or better and exchanging the darned monitor.
jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.