Monitor showing only green and blue , no red! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default Monitor showing only green and blue , no red!

The red channel is not appearing, please hlep! What do i do?
__________________

Tyrant is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Does your monitor have 5 diffrent plugs in the back for the video? I used to have one and the red plug would come out all the time and the screen showed no red. Check your cables.
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 12:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

The cables are all in fine. I have just one cable.
Tyrant is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

check for bent pins in vga cable and vid card plug
jaksback is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I've checked the monitor cable, they are all perfect but I'll check again.
Tyrant is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yeah very smart check those pins. Do you have any other monitors in your house you can hook your computer to or at a friends house? So you can diagnose this problem to your computer or monitor? If it is your monitor witch i believe, you can get a 17 Inch CRT monitor with good resolution for under 150$ brand new. If you have to or want to replace it here is a great link for some good crt monitors. Member CRT monitors are better then LCD.

http://www.calibex.com/ViewSonic_E70...calibex1z2-htm
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I have a second monitor sitting right next to the good one. The bad monitor works perfectly, the good one doesn't.
Tyrant is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

What makes the bad one bad?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 07:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

It's not bad, just old. I'm refering to it as 'bad' because it can't display correctly at all times. It does not support Linux or any 3d windows game.
Tyrant is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

hmm my brother got a dell notebook off ebay, one of the colors didnt work (i think red) and they had to send it to Dell, but that was a notebook and you said youve had yours for awhile.
__________________

FoxyLoxy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.