Monitor is scrolling? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2005, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default Monitor is scrolling?

I recently purchased a 17'' monitor and after a few days of it working perfectly I started up and noticed that the screen did not fit the monitor. It is like a movie screen, with the black lines on top and on bottom. Now when I move the mouse to the left side, the screen moves to the left side (the whole screen does not show)It is like scrolling a large webpage.

Can anyone help? I'm sorry if my description is weird.
__________________

Cane is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

There should be a button on your monitor that you can puch and adjust your screen position settings.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I have a BenQ FP731 monitor, and the buttons it has are:

I (auto adjust), Exit, Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Enter, and the Power button.
When I press enter, it shows Auto Adjust, Luminance, Geometry, Color, OSD, Language, Recall, and Miscellaneous. There is no button in there that allows me to stretch the screen, it seems that Auto Adjust is the only option that adjusts the screen, but that doesn't do anything for me. Also, Geometry just allows me to move the vertical/horizontal position of the screen, not stretch it either.
Cane is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Windows or Linux?
I had something similar with Linux. Check the control panel>display settings.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

windows XP.
Cane is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Talking

Well I opened my computer up to see whats up with the video card, and I found that the video card was overheated, so I let it cool down for a while, it seems to work now, thanks anyway guys
Cane is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Did you overclock it? Make sure the fan on the card is spinning!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cane
Well I opened my computer up to see whats up with the video card, and I found that the video card was overheated, so I let it cool down for a while, it seems to work now, thanks anyway guys
No problem. Glad I could be of assistance

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea that wouldn't be good if the fan wasn't spining no wouldn't it.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.