monitor question...heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2002, 05:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to raapunzel
Question monitor question...heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelp

Hi, tried to intall cd rom drive and computer would not run untill it was unplugged. since then, I have found that my display is set to 16 colors and refuses to change to 256 or 16 bit. i have tried removing the monitor and using the detect new hardware but comes up as plug and play on nvidia geforce mx/mx400.
i have tried search for new driver with no luck tells me i already have the correct driver. the monitor is an acer 77c which i have found a driver on line for but cant use because windows ME doesnt know i have this monitor!!! How do i change the settting for adding a new monitor......... i liked windows 98 much better, or was it 95 had a tab change monitor on it, can't find anywhere to do that here.
please help.
i have 400mherz computer running ME with 128 meg ram and 32 meg graphics card, so seems weird to be looking at this spotty mess.
thanks in advance
__________________

raapunzel is offline  
Old 11-10-2002, 11:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

as far as the monitor drivers go, go into device manager and remove the generic one thats in there. reboot the system, it should re-detect and let you install the drivers.

as far as that video card, i would go to nvidia.com and download the 40.72 detenator drivers. This should hopefully take care of it.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-10-2002, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

The Detonator 41.03's been out, but the 30.82 is the most stable release currently. Follow the above by uninstalling the generic monitor driver
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 11-10-2002, 10:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to raapunzel
Default

Thanks, but it hasn't worked,
it finally found the acer 77c monitor and installed the driver i downloaded for that. i moved the 30.82 driver files into the folder windows system32/drivers and it found and installed i presume the correct driver. BUT i still cannot change from 16 clors to 256 or 16 bit. im still getting rundll and kernel error on startup also.any ideas???
raapunzel is offline  
Old 11-11-2002, 03:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

FYI:
The 40.72 WHQL dets are out and stable now, using them at home.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-12-2002, 02:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to raapunzel
Default

Thanks, think i might have to format, im going around in circles, have tried reinstalling the damn thing must be 50 times, reistry is probly out of wack now too..................thanks for your help.................now how do i format???LOL
raapunzel is offline  
Old 11-12-2002, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 14
Default

Does'nt seem to me as the videodrivers would be the problem. Have you checked and installed the drivers for AGP and the chipset (VIA, Intel..)? Bad or no drivers here and you can forget the performance of an AGP card like the one mentioned.
If they are OK I would remove the drivers, install a Generic driver and then reinstall the new drivers.
HW errors usually does make the whole card dead.
Raween is offline  
Old 01-02-2003, 05:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to raapunzel
Talking Thanks...problem solved

hi,
firstly, thanks for all the replies here on the forum and the private ones. i followed everyones advice
ended up throwing the machine at my repairer and found I had a nasty virus that was eating my files!!! Had to format and flash??? the CMOS??
have gone back to Windows 98 also as seems to be less buggy for me, I now have Nortons systems works and virus thingy and am going greeat guns ..no problems... so faar...........
Thanks again, for this great rsource and the help herin.
__________________

raapunzel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.