Monitor Problems... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2004, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default Monitor Problems...

Hello, I am currently having problems with my Dell 2400 monitor, the contrast menu keeps showing up for no reason. It doesnt do it all the time, just some of the time and the times are at random. Ive tried everything I could do and now it was time to consult the tech forums to find out whats going on, if possible. I play video games alot on this machine, and that menu gets in the way...Alot.

Thanks in advance,
-=Knownothing=-
__________________

__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Could be the button(s). Clean them or something.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 182
Default

The button may be stuck.........yet you did say it was random........mmmmmmm let me think
__________________
FAIL TO PREPARE...........PREPARE TO FAIL
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...rat/banner.gif

http://www.flyingmonkeys.co.uk
gamingslave is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Buttons are spotless...
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 182
Default

oh.....blew my idea then.....how old is the monitor, i don't know my dell products well.
__________________
FAIL TO PREPARE...........PREPARE TO FAIL
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...rat/banner.gif

http://www.flyingmonkeys.co.uk
gamingslave is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

I bought this dell last Feburary.
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 182
Default

Not too old then..have you tried dell's customer support (not that there any good, i have bad experiences with them).
__________________
FAIL TO PREPARE...........PREPARE TO FAIL
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...rat/banner.gif

http://www.flyingmonkeys.co.uk
gamingslave is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Exactly...Thats why I came here, I dont much like their support...Its not very...Supportive.
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

The contact between the button and the censor is probobly dirty. You could, although I wouldn't advise you to is to take apart the monitor casing and clean it.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Ok, I'll try that. Thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.