Monitor & Keyboard work for client not for server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 05:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default Monitor & Keyboard work for client not for server

Hi,
I have one monitor connected to two clients and a server. Each machine has its own keyboard. Yesterday when i switched all 3 machines on, and flicked to view the server, the monitor light began flashing (as did its keyboard light). when i flicked the same monitor to view what was happening on the clients, all worked fine. I messed about with the cables, and kept rebooting untill it worked on the server. no such luck today. I simply cannot see whats going on with the server, even if i plug the monitor directly into it. The server has also started to make a double beep sound when i try to boot it. Im at a total loss and *REALLY* need to get the server to boot and view it on the monitor...
ANY help or input would be appreciated.
thanks
__________________

lauraSatellite is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Is it a KVM switch you use? If so then maybe it somehow damaged the graphics card in the server.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Im using a PS2 multi-pc controller, could this also mess with the graphics card on the server? I didnt know that this could happen. How can i tell if this is what is wrong?
lauraSatellite is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

it turned out to be either the RAM or the video card. I opened up the machine and just clipped them out and back in, and its working away grand now, no double beeps or anything
thanks
lauraSatellite is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.