Monitor Keeps Going Black - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2004, 11:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default Monitor Keeps Going Black

OK, I was wondering if some kind soul could help me here. My first post on the boards but they look great.

Anyway, here is my issue:

I recently just upgraded my homebuilt system to a RAID0 Array with 2 SATA 200GB drives.

Obviously I had to reinstall windows and all. Strangely, after this enhancement, I started to get a weird problem, namely my monitor will go black, the light on it will stay green (i.e. it's not hibernating) but there's nothing there.

Turning the monitor off and on will bring things back to life. This can happen when I'm working on the PC, or when it's just sitting there.

I've already tried the obvious things: I've switched out Monitors and I've switched out the Video Card - to no avail. The problem persisted.

So, I'm left with it being a software issue or hardware conflict or something. But there are no obvious conflicts in Device Manager.

So, the details:

MB: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Video Card: ASUS ATI 9600XT
1 GB of Corsair RAM
XP Home with SP1 and all available Updates from MS

All the drivers are up to date as well, for everything. The one thing that I'm curious about is could it possibly be some conflict between the IRQ port that the Video Card is using and the Intel 82801ER Raid Controller?

Sorry for the novel, thanks in advance for anyone's help.


ashawley is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 02:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340

try changing the IRQ settings

I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3

Thanks Andrew, I thought of that. So, here's where my lack of IRQ settings comes in. Since XP handles that on it's own through ACPI (I probably have that wrong) how do I manually change settings. I mean, can I disable and IRQ port in the BIOS, I can't change them in Device Manager - the option is greyed out and I understand from reading that this is managed by Windows due to HAL?

Sorry, I'm a noob at IRQ stuff.

Thanks for the help though.

ashawley is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3

Sorry, to bump folks. Anyone have any ideas here?
ashawley is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter

is your power supply powerful enough? (just checking)
YourPrinter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.