Monitor issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2010, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default Monitor issue

Brand new computer (Xfire HD5970 x2) and monitor (samsung 27 inch p2770h)

When i first started pc, the image on the screen was taking up ALL of the monitor's display area (as its supposed). I installed "required" microsoft updates (i got 7 64bit ultimate), and after that i got like 1-2 cm off every edge of screen as "black" (meaning they work but dont show anything, like widescreen movies only from sides as well). I have downloaded/installed latest catalyst software/drivers, but issue is not fixed.

I have tried changing every possible display setting via control panel, and via monitor's menu. Its set on "full screen" and "1920x1080" (highest). Problem still here.

Anyone got any advices?

Here is paint picture to show what im talking about



I know that monitor itself is fine, its some kind of software issue i believe.

Thanks in advance
__________________

iguanaonastick is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Monitor issue

Are you using an HDMI connection by any chance? Also, did you install the latest Catalyst drivers (http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...wnloads.aspx)? If you're using an HDMI connection it may have overscan correction enabled which scales the picture (because some HDMI TV's stretch the picture beyond the actual screen for no good reason). You can turn it off using the AMD Catalyst drivers. After installing Catalyst, open Catalyst Control Center and go to Desktops And Displays, then click on the monitor icon at the bottom where the drop down arrow is (not the screen icon but the actual monitor/TV looking one) and Configure. From here you can set scaling options, overscan, etc.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default Re: Monitor issue

Thank you so much, that fixed the issue!
iguanaonastick is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 08:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default Re: Monitor issue

A small issue - i have to re-check that option in catalyst every time i turn on my PC. Any way to "save" it?
iguanaonastick is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default Re: Monitor issue

Anyone?

Its kinda annoying having to redo it every time i start my PC
iguanaonastick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor Issue Onymaru42 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-11-2009 07:07 PM
Monitor Issue coldize Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-13-2008 09:24 PM
Monitor Issue g2k556 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-01-2008 02:13 AM
New Monitor Issue freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-01-2007 10:00 PM
Another monitor issue Ali1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-11-2005 12:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.