monitor clicking... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2006, 07:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default monitor clicking...

Every once in a while, my second monitor clicks while it's off. Why? Right now it's connected to my graphic card, with dualview enabled.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Default

take care cause that happen to two friends of mine and their monitors just went off forever if you know what i mean!!!

what kind of monitor is? LCD, CRT? how old?
__________________

Romani48 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 12:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

CRT and I'm not sure how old but I'm sure it's pretty old. It also has a hardly noticeable burned image of the log on screen in the center. It doesn't bother me. I got it from my mom's workplace, and they used to have it on all the time.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 12:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Are you sure it is off? Some CRT's click when turning them on (automatic degaussing), but not when they are off. Also, old monitors didn't do this (automatically).

Does it click only a short while after turning it off or does it keep clicking as long as it is connected to the wall?

You should just keep using the monitor until it dies, and replace it them. Maybe it will die soon, or maybe it will keep working for another 10 years.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea thats what I'm doing, I'm just having it on, and will just use it until it dies. Currently I have two monitors on throughout the day, and turning them off when sleeping.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 02:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Default

so its what i was suspicious, the monitor is in death time !!!

a friend of mine had that problem and the monitor just stopped to power on, but my uncle monitor, which had the same problem, kinda have blown and there was smoke everywhere.. no fire though! lool

good luck with it..
__________________

Romani48 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.