Monitor black lines - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2006, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default Monitor black lines

So I just got my sony premier pro monitor and I;'ve noticed near the middle of it their are a few dim black lines running across it. its hard to see but clearly visible at times
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 03:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

bumps
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 07:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

That's normal (if it's a CRT). Indicates you have an aperture-grill tube (called Trinitron by Sony).

Most high end CRT monitors use aperture-gril tubes. I prefer them over shadow-mask tubes.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 09:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

TheMajor hit the nail on the head. the price one pays for having a large flat screen
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 09:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
TheMajor hit the nail on the head. the price one pays for having a large flat screen
They also come in 15" and 17"sizes.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah but they are a heck of a lot more noticeable on large screens
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 10:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

They are the same, except that 15" monitors only have 1 of those wires and anything bigger got 2 of them.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Its this moniutor its not CRT

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...365&CatId=1410
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 02:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

managed to get some pics

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...ert/lines3.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...ert/lines2.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...kert/lines.jpg
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 02:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Im thinking about sending it into sony for a replacemnt but I wouldn't kbnow how to go about it. It had 4 dead pixels right out of the box too.

How would I contact sony and how long would it take cause this is my only monitor
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.