Monitor Advice

luke127

The Ghost
Hey guys,

So I'm looking at these two monitors, but I'm not sure which one to buy.

Monitor 1:

https://www.pccasegear.com/products/37958/aoc-q3279vwf8-32in-qhd-freesync-gaming-monitor

Monitor 2:

https://www.pccasegear.com/products/36893/viewsonic-vx2778-smhd-27in-ips-widescreen-monitor

I'm not a content creator, so I'm wondering if the smaller sized IPS is worth the extra $100. 32 inches of screen real estate is looking reallllly appealing right now lol. (I was earlier looking at getting a 144 Hz monitor, but I really don't play enough fps games to justify buying one)

I'm a university student studying IT, (some may already know this) and so I tend to use a lot of space because of programming IDEs and documentation, plus some youtube playing in the background, and of course there's the word or pdf documents that explain the assignments themselves, etc.

But my absolute main concern, is that I cannot find a SINGLE review on the AOC 32 inch monitor at all. I've scoured the internet looking for them, and came up with nothing. Surely to ****, somebody owns this monitor somewhere. If any of you have better luck finding some reviews, please post links :)

Cheers,
Luke

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2612416

IPS will definitely be better than a VA panel, so really it's down to whether that's important enough for you to pay $100 more and get a smaller panel. 27" is still plenty big though IMO :p

In my experience AOC monitors have been cheap and crap lol, which is fine in some scenarios e.g. when I bought them for our despatch guys to use. But if it's gonna be your main monitor for everything, I'd say maybe go with something that'll have better build quality.

Thing is, I already have a 24 inch TN panel, and I don't exactly wanna have an IPS / TN combo right next to each other, as it'll make the TN panel look reallllllly shiiiiit :p