monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2005, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to rythemposition
Default monitor

Hey guys. .well i just need some help .. I have a HUGE big old 19" monitor.. not flat screen or any of that good stuff, just a big bulky monitor.. This thing gets my room hot verry fast.. makes my room the hottest room in the house.. my room has alot of music equipment in it so i dont have room for a TV.. What i want to do is get a TV and take my monitor away and hook my computer to the TV. Can someone tell me what i would need to do this? I know im gona need a new video card since mines crappy and really old, but can someone tell me which one i might need and what other cables i might need to hook it up? Thank you for your help..

-P.S. I wasnt sure if this was the right section to post this thread, so sorry if it wasnt the best choice.. where should i post this?
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y30/agt220/sig2.jpg>
rythemposition is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Gotta say...it depends really on what kinda TV you have. For example, if you have a plasma or LCD Television, which accepts VGA of DVI input (the cables used for displays), then you could consider hooking you PC to it, because of the high image quality you'd experience.

However, if you have a CRT Television, then using it as a display for your PC would not be a good idea, because the lack of image sharpness, resolution and sharpness. Plus, with CRT Televisions, there's only the option of using an S-VIDEO or COMPOSITE cable to transmit video signals, which compared to DVI or VGA, aren't as good.

Instead if you have a CRT Television, consider buying a TV Tuner card for your PC, so you can watch TV, videos, cable, satellite or DVDs on your PC, using your 19" Monitor as your display. However, this means that the TV display window would take up desktop space. Also, although digital signals like on satelite, DVD players or cable would show up clearly on your 19" Monitor, analogue signals like from VHS videos and ariel television would appear slightly fuzzy, because of the high resolution the PC has in comparison to a CRT Television.

So long as you have a CRT Television, it's best not to use it as a PC Display .
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to rythemposition
Default

so if i got a regular TV not flat screen or anything say.. 37 inch or so.. and got the cables/video card to hook it to my computer, it wouldnt look good? would it just lack computer graphics and stuff a little bit (im not a gamer so doesnt matter) or will it be absolutely horrible?

*Edit* would this work? >
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/JVC-3...cfkmdffhdffh.0

or this one

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/RCA-3...cfkmdffhdffh.0

P.S. The Video card im getting says it has s-video output
__________________
<img src=http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y30/agt220/sig2.jpg>
rythemposition is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

yes that would work but not good at all becuase it is an analog set and they are horrible with a computer signal you will barely be able to make out text and ugh just trust me its a really, really bad idea.
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

well the first one would look like it work but when i looked closer, its analog and it doesnt specify if its hdtv

make sure you get an hdtv because they have a resolution of 1280x720 or 1280x1024 which would be ideal for reading whats on a computer
Echo_ is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 11:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

its like this.... a normal CRT TV, could be used for gaming, wont be as sharp, but would work... but a normal CRT TV is horible for normal text, such as word or web browsing, is almost unreadable. it doesnt matter how big the TV is, the resolution quality will be the same... unless its HDTV, witch would work fine.

if u wont to see for yourself, some normal place like, circuit city, or bestbuy or something could prolly hook a tv up to one of htere many pc's.. iv never asked them to do such a thing, but i dont c why thy wouldnt.
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to rythemposition
Default

Alright.... so would these work? im lookin for somethin bigger than my 19" ..... hmm, thanks for your help guys

Also.. if i get a bigger screen like say 30"-40" will it fill up the whole screen? or what? (using a HDTV like above)




http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Phili...cfkmdffhdffh.0


------------------------------------------->

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Akai-...cfkmdffhdffh.0
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y30/agt220/sig2.jpg>
rythemposition is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.