Modem speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2004, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Default Modem speed

Hello everyone!

I have a Ambient dial-up modem that connects at 45.2 kpbs.

Is it possible in any way to speed up this connection to at least 52 kpbs?

Thanks.
__________________

gtown is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 11:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

The modem's speed can also be slowed down by certain types of connectors used by phone companies
__________________

Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

In your modem properties, make sure your port speed is set to the maxiumum of 115,200 bps.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

also, even if you do connect at higher speeds, they tend to vary and fluctuate during the connection cycle. Depends on how long the line from the wall is, shielding in the house, line interference and noise, weather conditions, and available speed on the racks themselves.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.