Modem Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2004, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default Modem Problem

My friend had a strange problem with his modem. When he tried to dial out, he gets an error saying that his modem is in use or busy. But when he restarts his PC, the modem dials out just fine. His modem is internal, and he's running windows XP. Does anyone have anyone have any ideas about this?

Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

What modem is it?

beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

may need to reinstall DUN and/or TCP/IP... usually its either the modem is not releasing from prior connection or another device that also uses com ports (serial mouse, printer, scanner, etc) isn't releasing like it should. Try reinstalling the DUN TCP/IP then.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE

Its either the aboce mentioned by killians45 or the drivers. Try the drivers second.
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Well thats just a 56k modem. But i would listin to killians and try those things. But it could just be the behavior of an 56k.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.