Modem detection and limited users on XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2003, 02:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8
Default Modem detection and limited users on XP


I just did a fresh install of XP Pro on my PC.
The ADSL modem installation and the internet connection creation went fine.

My problem is that only users having administrator rights can see and use the modem.
Users having limited rights do not even see the modem (my modem monitoring tool says "modem not detected").

If I give these users administrator rights, then they see the modem.
But I would like to avoid to give administrator rights to all users needing to access internet.

Does anyone know the solution ?
Thanks for helping.

lukyluke is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 17

I guess you could alway set a GPO, but that seems like the "long" way.

I will do some searching.


Jack Flash is offline  
Old 09-22-2003, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8
Default ADSL modem and XP Pro: More infos

I made some progress on this problem.
In fact, limited users can use the modem and their internet connection, I initially had the impression they could not but I was wrong.

What happens is that when a limited user logon, the app in charge of initializing the modem and monitoring it temporarily displays an error message saying that the modem is not detected.
But this window disappears after 1 sec, which means the modem has finally been detected.
Then the app does not go in the icon taskbar as it does usually when I logon as admin, but it is still running, I can see it in the task manager.
Then, if I start a second instance, it says "modem not detected", but I assume this is because the 1st is still running.

The real question is : why does it occur only if I logon as a limited user ?
Could be a problem of USB device detection, or simply a problem with the application.

Anyway, the problem is not so serious as I initially thought.

Any idea is welcome.
lukyluke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.