MOBO upgrade help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Question MOBO upgrade help!

I'm running a AMD ATHLON 64 2800+, with 1GB of OZC ram, with a nvidia geforce 5700LE. IF i upgrade my mobo to a ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard will it work?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131517 - the mobo.
__________________

GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

ok ill say it first... DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D SLI-DR
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
AB0
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveGTA
ok ill say it first... DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D SLI-DR
I agree
AB0 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default Re: MOBO upgrade help!

Quote:
Originally posted by GuitarFreak1857
I'm running a AMD ATHLON 64 2800+, with 1GB of OZC ram, with a nvidia geforce 5700LE. IF i upgrade my mobo to a ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard will it work?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131517 - the mobo.
No. Your GFX card is AGP, that mobo is PCI-E. Different slot type, different bandwidth... Buy a budget PCI-E card and you'll be sorted.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your CPU is most likely socket 754 as well as your card is AGP, it wont work.

Anyways DFI > Asus anyday
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
DFI > Asus
Why do people always knock Asus so much? I gather their tech support is crud, but their Mobos have never given me any greif...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default mobo upgrade

okay so the DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D SLI-DR will be compatible for my computer? how much does it go for.?
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
AB0
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Hmm didnt see that. You will also need to upgrade your CPu and video card...

I recommend this CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
And this video card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214
AB0 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

how much does the DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D SLI-DR go for? so i shud get that mobo^^ with that cpu and video card u suggested? and i'd pwn? lol.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

First that DFI is PCI Express, which your video card is AGP. Second its SLI, dont get this board unless you want to built a new system.. I have no clue why SteveGTA suggested this mobo.

If you can find out what socket your CPU is, i can suggest a board.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.