Which mobo should i get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 02:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default Which mobo should i get?

I'm having trouble deciding which mobo i should get. Here are my options: (keep in mind this will be my first build)

Abit "AN8" NVIDIA nForce4 Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL

GIGABYTE "GA-K8NF-9" NVIDIA nForce4 4X Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL

SOLTEK "SL-K890Pro-939" VIA K8T890 Chipset

MSI "K8N Neo4 Platinum" NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Chipset

They all look good to me so give you some input. Thanks.
__________________

tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

GIGABYTE "GA-K8NF-9" NVIDIA nForce4 4X Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL

GIGA-Byte has the best customer support. GET IT!!!!!!!! Giga-byte has won so many awards. Trust me, you will be more that satisfied.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Either the Abit or the MSI board.... Or possibly the newer DFI lanparty board....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

get the board i'm using (dfi lanparty ut ultra-d)

the abit board is equally as nice; it all depends on which brand you prefer
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

some of the lanparty reviews said it was kinda hard for noobs like me to get working. what do you think?
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

I heard that its a harder board to set up and that it can be picky.... But its easy to set up the MSI boards... Just set everything in bios to AUTO if its able to be set to auto....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

i'm kinda leaning towards the GIGA-byte just because its about $30 cheaper than the others. Is there much of a performance difference between the two?
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Nubius put down a gigabyte i posted one day realy fast.. and i just dont like the sound of that company for somereason lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

www.giga-byte.com

learn something. I hate da MSI name lol
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tigerfootball05
some of the lanparty reviews said it was kinda hard for noobs like me to get working. what do you think?
as long as you get good ram (don't get any ram that's labeled "VALUE" and get a 24pin power supply), the board is really easy to set up with (i'm a newb to computer building and it was fairly simple for me, so i dont' think it'll be that hard for you)

for your 24pin power supply, i suggest this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-154&depa=0
or
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-934&depa=1

for your ram, if you want something that works, go for this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...144-310&DEPA=1

however, don't expect to overclock it (i have this ram so i know)

if you want nicer ram, go for this
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-450&depa=1
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.