Mobo Recommendations - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2004, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default Mobo Recommendations

Ok, I have managed to FINALLY narrow down my mobo to 2.
They are:
1. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-484&depa=0
and
2. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-231&depa=0

Also, I think I have found a compatible processor, could you tell me?
Specs:
Model: Intel Pentium 4 w/ Hyper Threading
Core: Northwood
Operating Frequency: 3.0GHz
FSB: 800MHz
Cache: L1/12K+8K; L2/512K
Voltage: 1.52V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: 478
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, SSE2

Thank you.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 09:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Your processor is perfectly compatible, just gotta make sure the socket and FSB are compatible.


I can't say anything about the Gigabyte because I never used it but it looks good, except no raid support, if you plan on using RAID. I used the P4P800 SE for my 1st build about 4-5 weeks ago. I used a 2.8 northwood 800 FSB, an 80GB SATA drive, a Transcend 512MB PC3200 stick of ram, and a 128MB Sapphire ATI Radeon 9600 XT and it all worked great. I had zero problems with the motherboard and everything was really easy to set up. I use onboard audio and onboard NIC, the audio is pretty good for onboard, i got a set of $30 2.1 sound speakers so its not like im using the greatest speakers in the world. The SATA drive was simple plug and play, i didn't have to do anything to set them up. The manual has a list of tested memory so If you get the ASUS I would download the manual from Asus.com and check what they approve of for memory, Im sure other memory works but why not play it safe and get the tested stuff.

Oh yeah, your second link is broken. it says www/newegg.com rather then www.newegg.com
__________________

Bostonsox46 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 10:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Giga-byte boards are a good deal. They tend to be feature packed and run rather well. They don't overclock easily, but if you don't do any of that, they're great! They come with a lot of extras, too, if you buy retail.

I'm not too complete on how they deal with P4's (I've only have six of the giga-byte p4 boards at work), but every AMD giga-byte board I've bought I've pretty much loved. They aren't totally smooth, but they do the job. Plus they break away from the dull-as-386 brown circuit-board color that ASUS seems to love. If you have a windowed case, they look like a rusty paper-towel

ASUS is known for being good with AMD. I'm not sure how good they are with P4's, I've never had a P4-ASUS before.

So, I guess, if you're looking for votes, my vote is for giga-byte.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Go Gigabyte
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

You shouldn't get a mobo right now, wait a bit for pci-express.

(I really wan't to upgrade to the most expensive board, but I have an AGP card.) :P
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

md makes a good point, if your in no hurry wait a couple months and you can get a PCI-express graphics card and DDR2
Bostonsox46 is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bostonsox46
md makes a good point, if your in no hurry wait a couple months and you can get a PCI-express graphics card and DDR2
But that will cost a small fortune And on that term of thinking you would want to wait for BTX form factor
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 02:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Currently, the only game that really utilizes the PCI-Express speeds is Doom3. Personally, I think yer wasting yer money (and time) jumping onto PCI-Express in it's dawning days.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

OK, I think I'll go Giga-Byte, but I'll need to find one w/ RAID.
Regulus is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

For 32bit Athlon XP, get a Gigabyte 7N400 Pro II
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.