MOBO and old HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2004, 04:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to V1|2u5
Default MOBO and old HD

I'm grading Motherboards and i would like to keep my old hard drive and run the previous programs. Will it not work or may i do that?
__________________

V1|2u5 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 07:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

it depends on the mobo, try and find out. It should work, might not be fast though.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Your more than likely going to have to wipe your hard drive and start from scratch. Unless your getting the same mobo as your old one.
heavywx is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

i did that with an older p3 slot one mobo and transferred the 100gb hd to an asus p4s-la mobo with no probs that i can remember.....so.....?
jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.