Mobo help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 12:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Yeah, I was going to say no, it is socket 754. The only socket 939 one right now is PCI-Express.

Not sure which Lanparty people recommend (there are a couple, and both are a bit pricy) but here is the one I have and it is GREAT for AGP. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130468
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 01:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

yea that looks pretty good, have you had any probs with it whatsoever?
__________________

__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 01:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

It is a little bit picky when you're overclocking sometimes. Just make sure you up the voltages when necessary. Also, it seems to get slightly unstable for me when I bring the FSB above 270 MHz, but the stock speed is 200 MHz, so 270 is COOKING. I could probably try to get it stable or whatnot, but I've just never messed with it. Like I said earlier, I'm happy with the overclock I have and getting it from 2.25 GHz or 2.3 GHz to 2.4, 2.5, or 2.6 GHz isn't going to make THAT much of a difference for me. The graphics are all in the graphics card anyway.

Make sure you plug the front side USB into the right spot man. If you don't, you'll get a false beep code that tells you there is an error. It is easy to goof up for a first build. If you have problems after you build it, unplug the front side USB to see if that helps.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.