mobo help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default mobo help

OK any help is appreciated ok so how do you find out what mobo you have and how can you tell if it is fried or ot? with out it turning on all of the way?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

google it
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Use CPU-Z to see what motherboard you have.

Too see if it is fried? well would it turn on? has it/is it smoking? do you see burn marks? look for anything which doesn't suppose to be there.

ApM is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

smell the MB, if u smell any smoke or sumthing like that, u might have short circted ur mobo, and fried something. If ur mobo isnt turning on, u cant use cpu-z..

Look for a serial number or some sort of code on the mobo, and go to the manufacturer site, and u should be able to search the number.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea but see my brother built the computer and I don't know who made it. LOL
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

can u make a pic of the mobo, we can maybe tell u wat it is.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

you know what I totally forgot I was looking at it a few days ago and it is a foxcon.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

CPU-Z will tell you.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

dude hes trying to figure out if its fryed.. that kinda means its not turning on, therefore he cant use cpuz.

There is no serial number on the board anywere?

wat socket is it(wat cpu is in it)
go at the manufacoturer site, and compare mobos, hehe, till u find one that looks alike the one u got.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.