Mobo Fries a PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Question Mobo Fries a PSU?

Hey Gang,

Thanks for reading!

My old AMD-Athlon T-Bird 1.13 GHz machine is dieing. I don't have any cash for a new one, but I'm hoping I can just bandage it up and that I've had some bad luck with a recent purchase.

First, the original PSU died. I tested it with a freind's spare and it worked fine. I went onto NewEgg and bought a brand new Rosewill 450 Watt PSU a couple of weeks ago. Things had been working fine with the new PSU except that my graphics card started to over-heat for the first time. When playing games, the screen would turn black and it required a hard restart to get the screen back.

I went out for the evening last night and when I came back, my computer was turned off and I didn't know how that happened. I turn it on and there was a really high-pitched whine coming from something. While it was loading the WinXP splash screen, the whole system crashed and turned off. WTF?!?! was my first thought. I unplugged everything from the system accept for the CPU fan and the PSU, and I was still having the whining noise. For a second, I unhooked the CPU fan (I know, I know) and the only thing running was the PSU. It was the whiner. So I'm guessing the new one just blew. I hope it's still under waranty. Is it possible that some how my MOBO is causing my PSUs to die? Or did I just get a sucker PSU?

I know my electrical work is fine because I'm at college and I'm the only one with a problem.

David
__________________

davidemm is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

wow when did you buy the psu? it probably has a one year warrenty at least
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

its very unlikely that your mobo is causing it, unless you have a fault in it somewhere. id say you probablly just had a dud PSU
__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

rosewill is really just a psu with no brand; try getting a good psu this time (with a better brand)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for the input.

What is this about Rosewill being no-brand?

Also, the problem is that I'm in school and bought a bunch of things are once. I had too many boxes in my room and so I threw the retail box away so I don't think I'll be getting a replacement :-(

David
davidemm is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 04:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

i'm pretty sure rosewill just buys some no-brand psu and rebrands it rosewill; where did you order that psu? you might try asking them for a return if it's online

and for your new psu, try getting this one:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...153-006&depa=0
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea man rosewill arem't good psu makers
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Don't believe you'd need the original packaging for an RMA request. Contact the manufacturer and make sure you have a copy of the invoice from when you bought it for date verification
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.