Mobo compatibility w/ my comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2004, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default Mobo compatibility w/ my comp

i want to play CS source, so i CAN run it on a PCI (radeon 9200 256mb) i guess, but agp would be so much better, but my mobo doesn't have agp (which is weird b/c my comp is less than 1 yr old)
specs on my comp so far are

80 gig HD
2.8 celeron processer
768 ram

anyway, i have a compaq s6220wm coomputer, but i heard that i can't upgrade it w/ a new mobo b/c of the case or something like that, which i dont understand b/c the case looks normal to me

heres a link for my computer: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...name=c00061385

so i dunno what to do?! now, my other comp is a dell dimension 4500s, but it's case is shaped weird, so i doubt i can upgrade that either

so any help please!
__________________

Quintox is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

anyone? (also a bump lol)
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the case might look normal but generally companies like Compaq, dell , HP, places like that make their own cases which means the normal screw holes for a motherboard probably won't be found. They could have it turned differently or something like that.

Pretty weird that it wouldn't have an AGP slot though =/

Suggestions - Stop getting pre-made computers...dive head first into the world of building computers You should just pick up a cheap case and then with that buy yourself a new mobo and then you won't have to worry about things not fitting.

With $100 you can get a new case and new mobo that's probably a lot more up-to-date than your current mobo
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

yes, that's what i'll do sometime (summer when i get job), but how do i know what to get that will still be compatible w/ my setup?

there is so many case options such as atx tower full, atx mid tower, etc ( i think mid tower is the one i want) and power wattage confuses me on which to get

see, all i want to do is transfer my stuff from this PC to the new case/mobo. the only things that will be diff is vid card, and mobo
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well ATX is the natural form factor of the motherboards. You want an ATX form factor case and mobo...now when they say atx full tower or mid tower all that means is how big the case it, but the ATX tells you a regular ATX or even Micro-ATX motherboard will fit in there.

A mid-tower will simply be smaller than a full-tower or 'Super-Tower' ...those are just bigger, taller, have more drives etc..etc..

Like I said just focus on an ATX board and ATX case...but for the most part you'd probably have more difficulty finding one that DOESN"T meet those specs.

Regarding compatibility you just mainly need to atleast know what socket your CPU is.

Download a program called CPU-Z and it'll give you all the information you require about your current CPU and motherboard to give you a better idea on what you should be looking for.

As for power wattage, well it depends on what kind of things you have in your system but you not only look at the wattage but how big the rails are meaning the +3.3v, +5v, and +12v rails. Your CPU runs off the +12v rail so you really want to get a PSU with a strong +12v rail. If you look on the side of a PSU you will see the sticker that says it's ratings.

+3.3v - 30a
+5v - 25a
+12v - 15a

You should see something like that. Try to get a PSU with atleast 18a but just come back here when you are shopping around and we will help you get the parts you need.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

wow thanks for all the info!

i wont be doing this till summer tho when i get a job

PS. will a radeon 9200 256mb 128 bit PCI card run counter strike source on lowest settings (for now)
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Quintox
wow thanks for all the info!

i wont be doing this till summer tho when i get a job

PS. will a radeon 9200 256mb 128 bit PCI card run counter strike source on lowest settings (for now)
run? yes. run playibly? seriously doubtfull (if it was AGP then yea.. but PCI is a whole other story)
__________________

quartz01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.