MOBO and case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2004, 08:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Default MOBO and case

I was wondering if it would be possible to put the motherboard that i currently have in my comp (see sig) into this case. I'm thinking it won't be as i think all of the dell stuff is proprietary but just thought I'd check. thanks
__________________

__________________
\"Anything you do can get you killed, including nothing.\"

Intel i 845g mobo
P4 2.4 Ghz 512 KB L2 cache
512 MB PC 2700 DDR Kingston RAM
GeForce FX 5200 128 MB 8x AGP
48x CD-ROM
3.5 in. Floppy Disk Drive
Ultra ATA 30 GB Hard Drive
Creative Soundblaster Live! 5.1
Altec Lansing 251 5.1 Surround Sound
Sniper Boomslang 2100 Gaming Mouse
Dell Quietkey Keyboard
17\" E772 Monitor
Intel Pro 100M Integrated PCI NIC Card
Windows XP Home
compu-dude is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 08:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Default

sorry forgot the link.......

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...144-026&depa=0
__________________

__________________
\"Anything you do can get you killed, including nothing.\"

Intel i 845g mobo
P4 2.4 Ghz 512 KB L2 cache
512 MB PC 2700 DDR Kingston RAM
GeForce FX 5200 128 MB 8x AGP
48x CD-ROM
3.5 in. Floppy Disk Drive
Ultra ATA 30 GB Hard Drive
Creative Soundblaster Live! 5.1
Altec Lansing 251 5.1 Surround Sound
Sniper Boomslang 2100 Gaming Mouse
Dell Quietkey Keyboard
17\" E772 Monitor
Intel Pro 100M Integrated PCI NIC Card
Windows XP Home
compu-dude is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

seems like a pretty good price for the case
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 07:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Everything will fit fine you will have to study on the front panel conections tho .Also you will have to use the IO cover from the Dell system. You may have to modify it to fit the new case.Take your time modding it to fit , it will work.I had to dry fit my mobo and the Rear IO cover to see where i had to cut the cover i had to straighten 1 side flat and cut 1/16 of metal off the other side but it fit perfectly i used a screw to hold it in place.They(Dell,Gateway,Sony) like using a single front panel socket . I recently converted a Sony Vaio PCV-RZ34G Mini Tower over to an Aluminum MidTower case with Side window.I had to cut to fit the IO plate .I made a Removable Front Bay Rack to house the Sound Media Memory stick ,SVideo and Audio conections just like the Audigy.This did require lenghthening the cables(That was time consuming hehe) .Its all done 6 pounds lighter and the temps have dropped 12 degrees inside the case .Get a plan together on what you may run into and how you want to set it up.Think it out beforehand.Once you start theres no turning back. Mine turned out great
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.