Mixing RAM Speeds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2005, 08:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Cool Mixing RAM Speeds

Would it be ok if I had one stick of 512mb PC2700 ddr ram and another stick of 512mb PC3200 ddr ram? Theyre both compatible with my mobo, but PC3200 is faster. would this be a problem at all?

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82

The faster RAM would be underclocked to the lower speed. It will only be as fast as the slowest one.

<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
Person is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119

humph. thats interesting. so there aren't individual ram slot speed adjustments?
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536

All modules are clocked at the same frequency.
ag3 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 02:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

yup, person is right..
they have to perform at the same speed if u think about it, and so they run at the slowest one..
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 07:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 113

Yeah, just get a stick of 512MB PC2700 instead, that would give you 1024MB RAM anyways and you'd probably notice a pretty big performance increase, especially in games and more powerful applications.
I\'m not a vegetable!
RedRecon2004 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119

ok i'm thinking about doing that anyways- thanks- i am looking for more performance and im glad to hear this will happen with more ram
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 02:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

If he gets PC3200 and it's underclocked to PC2700 that means he can run tighter timings than PC2700 of the same timings.

Meaning if you bought 3-3-3-8 it'd run like 2.5-3-3-7 (not that that makes a HUGE difference in speed or anything) whereas the PC2700 wouldn't necessarily do it, plus he'd be set for when he does need PC3200
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 02:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

if you underclock ram, you can really tweak those latencies
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02

for awhile I had 512mb on k-byte pc2700 and 512mb of PNY pc3200. the 3200 was underslocked to match my fsb (which was 333 at the time) when I got my new mobo, I was able to ditch the pc2700, and buy a stick of PNY pc3200 to match my fsb (400, since I overclocked my cpu) so I didn't have to blow a chunk of cash at one time on ram. you will be better off buying pc3200. plus, usually it is the same price as pc2700.

Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.