Mixing OCZ ram sticks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2010, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Mixing OCZ ram sticks

My computer currently has OCZ 2x512 Dual Ch PC 3200 (2-2-2-5)gold edition ram sticks, and a buddy of mine just gave me OCZ 2x1024 Dual Ch PC 3200(2-3-2-5) platinum edition ram sticks.

Can I mix them together? If so how should I place them on the motherboard (Next to each other or alternating? ) I have 4 slots

Any other input would be much appreciated. Thanks
__________________

Smithcobra95 is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Mixing OCZ ram sticks

They should work, but you never know until you try. How is your memory installed right now? I would install them into whatever slots are presently available. If that doesn't work then try them the other way. Are your memory slots colored by chance? If they are colored you want to put the same size module in the same colored slot. The latencies should default to the slower values, if they don't you may have to set them yourself (2-3-2-5).
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mixing OCZ ram sticks

Both sticks should default to the lowest latency. As Slay said, but you never know until you try. You're not going to burn your board doing this. It works, or it doesn't, in most cases.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mixing OCZ ram sticks

Thanks for the help. Turns out they were color coordinated so i stuck them in the same colors. It worked perfectly! appreciate it
Smithcobra95 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added RAM, no performance increase? drewjustforyou System Upgrades 2 03-21-2009 08:06 PM
OCZ Ram timings Gabb Overclocking and Modding 23 11-22-2008 09:45 PM
FS: New Copperhead + OCZ Reaper RAM almightyobo Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 11-18-2008 02:59 PM
DDR3 Ram Sticks Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 1 09-10-2007 08:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.