A Mission for you people - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 04:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default A Mission for you people

well i know people are always houndin at you guys to give them set ups and prices so this is what i need:

1) AMD setup
2) P4 Setup
3) Celeron Setup

I need prices and parts, and prices need to be cheap, nothin to pricey, im tryin to put together a computer for a friend and he said he needs it only for, and i quote "...as long as it can have msn diablo a music program and internet i'm gud..."

Also i need Canadian Currency please.

Cheers-
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

2.4 celeron 512 ram 40g hard drive dvd+/- burner $320US in a case w/PSU on newegg

I dont know how to convert. Oh yea, newegg isnt in canada yet so you cannot get this from them. Sorry...
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

i can order from newegg
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

AMD SETUP

3000+ Venice, expect a 1ghz overclock with custom HSF and Fan
220$
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...anufacture=AMD

DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
180$
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...anufacture=DFI

eVGA 6600GT PCI-E
253$
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...nufacture=eVGA

2x 512meg PC3200 Samsung
60$ Each
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...acture=Samsung

120GB Seagate SATA DRIVE
80$
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...acture=Seagate

Thermaltake TD-420AD
60$
http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...re=THERMALTAKE

Case is w/e and monitor is not needed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Thx for the AMD set up Chris. Why did you go with the PCI-E card though? he should just need a normal 6600GT if that. Hes no hardcore gamer and why so much for a MOBO?

Cheers-
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

ya seriously that is a pretty costly rig there he just need a cheapy one for internet and crap

look into amd socket 754 cpu 's and mobo's cuz they are discontinueing them and your gonna be able to get em pretty cheap this summer plus they are still pretty fast and good fro gaming for the card look into a cheap ati all in wonder i have a 7200 all in and it runs halo, c&c generals, wc3 and battlefield 1942 fine with ok settings plus you get the cable tv tuner with it
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

True, but that's the AMD system <-_->
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 11:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Well then, if no one else is willing to post a setup... it doesnt matter if its in Canadian Currency, just post a cheap set up that can be used for what he needs.

Cheers-
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

AMD64 2800+/3000+
MSI K8T Neo2-F[sr] or any cheap but reliable mobo
1 gig corsair value ram
seagate 80gb hdd
NEC 3510A
case (i prefer antec for cheap but good cases) and power supply (either stock antec ones or if the case doesn't come with one, then thermaltake TD-420)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I posted my setup. It was cheap too. You dont like it?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.