Missing texture problem with 6600GT? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
dk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default Missing texture problem with 6600GT?

I installed an Nvidia 6600GT in my new computer, and thought everything was working fine. Then I noticed while playing World of Warcraft that a few textures were missing - namely feathers on things like harpies and windserpents. The areas appear now just black with a rough outline of what I used to see there. Is this a problem with the graphics card, or is it the program messing up? I just installed WoW and downloaded the most recent patch like two weeks ago. Thanks in advance for any advice.
__________________

dk is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Try updating the drivers. If that doesn't work, and if you card is overclocked, bring it down a little. Otherwise, I have no idea.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
dk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default

No overclocking here, and I just updated the drivers two days ago. : / Funny thing, it's like TWO things in the whole game. Both feathers. *shrug*

Thanks for the response.
dk is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

I used to get some strange texturing errors on my ATI X600XT and lineage. Things like spider would appear to have a black web around their legs. Try posting on some WoW fansites. MMORPG gamers play for so many hours that some are sure to notice your porblem if it is a universal issue.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I am thinking it's a rare game issue, or maybee a very common one.

Every missing textures I have ever have had has been the game
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.