Missing Key - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 08:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default Missing Key

i have this Acer travel mate 2420 from bangkok and i have only recently started using it in programming and realised that the back slash " \ " key does not work.
in its place there is instead the " # " and when i try and type at the " #" is gives me the Dollar sign. why is this the case? i need to know how to correct this, anyone.
__________________

77platoon is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Go to Start -> Control Panel -> Regional and Language Options -> Highlight "English (United States).


Did that help?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default

well Dude, that dint work.
i tried other languages too but to no avail. do you have anything else up your long sleeve?
77platoon is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Other than changing the language, reinstall Windows with an English US copy...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 05:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Man,
Thats one of those things i'd rather not do. Drivers and all...
But i guess it may be my only way out, right?
77platoon is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

I noticed this on a friends laptop as well. Look around and you will see the key you want in a non standard location and it will be in puple then down on the left side you will see the purple key called I think it was FR. This is something acer did that was really stupid and there's nothing you can do about it.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

some are FR, mines FN tho. but yea, try hitting FN and hitting slash.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.